The Rosary is my favourite prayer. A marvellous prayer! Marvellous in its simplicity and in its depth. In this prayer we repeat many times the words that the Virgin Mary heard from the Archangel, and from her kinswoman Elizabeth. The whole Church joins in these words. It can be said that the Rosary is, in a certain way, a prayer-commentary on the last chapter of the Constitution "Lumen Gentium" of Vatican II, a chapter which deals with the wonderful presence of the Mother of God in the mystery of Christ and the Church.


(*) Saint John Paul II, 29.10.1978


The complete Rosary consists of Joyful, Luminous, Sorrowful, and Glorious Mysteries.


The Joyful Mysteries (Monday, Saturday)

The Annunciation

The Visitation

The Nativity

The Presentation of the Child Jesus in the Temple

The Finding of the Child Jesus in the Temple


The Luminous Mysteries (Thursday)

The Baptism in the Jordan

The Wedding Feast at Cana

The Proclamation of the Kingdom of God and Repentance for Sin

The Transfiguration

The Institution of the Holy Eucharist


The sorrowful Mysteries (Tuesday, Friday)

The Agony in the Garden

The Scourging at the Pillar

The Crowning with Thorns

The Carrying of the Cross

The Crucifixion


The Glorious Mysteries (Wednesday, Sunday)

The Resurrection

The Ascension

The Descent of the Holy Spirit

The Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary

The Crowning of the Blessed Virgin Mary as Queen of Heaven


(*) YOUCAT, Youth Catechism of the Catholic Church, 2013


Celebrations: From Tuesday to Saturday

30 minutes before the Eucharist


Public-displayed Collection at the Mother Church of Lagoa

Serviço Pastoral de Apoio a Pessoas Surdas